Blog

Beware of accounts being deleted

main_image

Messages in WhatsApp to delete themselves automatically

WhatsApp is gradually rolling out a self-destructing ‘Delete Messages’ feature. Messages will be automatically removed from the chat after a stipulated period of time.

The ‘Delete Messages’ feature was spotted in the latest Android beta version 2.19.348; it comes with a toggle on/off button in Contact Info and Group Settings. Users will be able to choose a particular period of time for messages to automatically disappear—1 hour, 1 day, 1 week, 1 month and 1 year. The feature is still under development and unavailable to users.

Inactive Twitter accounts to be deleted

Twitter has announced its plan to remove accounts that have been inactive for more than six months. Users have to log in before an 11 December deadline if they want to keep using their inactive accounts.

A Twitter spokesperson said that the company is planning to clean up inactive accounts to present more accurate, credible information. Moreover, part of the initiative is to encourage people to actively log in and use Twitter when they register an account.

It will take several months to delete accounts, and it is still unclear when Twitter will free up usernames for new users.

Subscribe to news, cases, offers